Hey GNOMEs, I’m the barefoot guy :)

Even though GUADEC just ended, here are my 5 answers as a quick introduction:

1) Who are you and what do you do?

I’m Jan-Christoph Borchardt from Germany, student of information design and interested in all things usability & user experience. My current projects are usability testing for the photo manager Shotwell (as part of the UX advocates project) and Cardapio, an alternative to the main menu inspired by Do and Spotlight.
I am also working on Ubuntu’s German translation team, trying to establish general standards for all desktop environments.

2) How did you get into GNOME?

Benny got me interested in Ubuntu and I started it using it full-time in January 2010. As soon as I understood the whole structure and discovered that GNOME was even more widely used, I became interested in it as well.

3) Why were you at GUADEC?

To meet up with all the great people working on a free desktop. I didn’t imagine it to be so full of idea-spawning discussions and truckloads of awesomeness.

4) In 1 sentence, describe what your most favorite recent GNOME project has been. (Doesn’t have to be yours!)

SparkleShare, a git-based open source alternative to Dropbox, made by Hylke Bons.

5) Was this your first time visiting the Netherlands?

No, about two years ago I toured the Netherlands by bike with my sister, spending some time in The Hague as well.

6) Bonus: Did you have a good time?

It was so much fun getting to know all the people like Allan, Jon, Andreas, Vinicius, Bastien, Hylke, Jakub, Ruben, Charline; Adam, Jim and Lucas from Yorba; Eitan, Calum, Peter, Benjamin and and and – I had a great first GUADEC!

For the next half year I am going to be in Berlin to intern with relevantive, the company that conducted the comparative KDE / Windows XP usability study and founded the OpenUsability project.

So, hit me up when you’re there!

Leave a Reply

